Toyota Tundra Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
229 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I own a 2001 Tundra, and i was thinking about going to Syntectic but i dont know if i should, I heard their are chancing of getting oils leaks. I love Syntectic probally the best thing made by man :) but i dont know if other 01 tundra have switch to Syntectic without getting oil leaks. have 75k on the truck and want to make it last for about 400k.

If so and you guys do say switch to Syntectic, do i need to flush my system to put Syntectic in what are the steps.

Whats a good Syntectic oil type?

Sorry for asking so many question it used to be my dads truck and he past away and i just want to keep the truck to rember him

Thanks!

·
Registered
131 Posts
I'm not a mechanic, but I don't know why switching to synthetic would cause oil leaks. I've been running Mobil 1 Synthetic in my Tundra and my wife's Infiniti G35 since day one, and if the good Lord's willing, neither one of these engines will ever see conventional motor oil. For me, it's a peace of mind thing, but I do know that synthetic is better. However, changing your oil at regular intervals (every 3-5k) is by far the most important thing. Just my .02

·
Premium Member
1,732 Posts
I own a 2001 Tundra, and i was thinking about going to Syntectic but i dont know if i should, I heard their are chancing of getting oils leaks. I love Syntectic probally the best thing made by man :) but i dont know if other 01 tundra have switch to Syntectic without getting oil leaks. have 75k on the truck and want to make it last for about 400k.

If so and you guys do say switch to Syntectic, do i need to flush my system to put Syntectic in what are the steps.

Whats a good Syntectic oil type?

Sorry for asking so many question it used to be my dads truck and he past away and i just want to keep the truck to rember him

Thanks!