Toyota Tundra Forums banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 134 Posts

·
Registered
117 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I live in a rural area about 35 miles from a city of about 230,000. My town has a pop of about 1,800, and I love the laid back feeling I get out here. I'm also a medical student, so when I go to school/hospital, its 35 miles of straight highway. We are talking pretty rural here. Anyway, I drive anywhere between 75-80mph and I began to notice people in their cars were beginning to pace me. This drives me UP THE WALL. I'm not sure if they wanted to race me (2010 CM Limited 4x4) or had a large magnet attached to the front of their cars that was pulling them towards me. So I blast away from them and of course, a cop would be there some of the time going the opposite direction, doing radar.

Now, I have a strong feeling that many of these cities and smaller towns are busting folks for going as little as 1mph over because they need the $$. Budgets are getting slashed in many municipalities. But if I need to get to the hospital while I'm in training, especially while I'm a resident- I'm going to push it a bit. If I can do this safely, I see no problem with it- but I wont put up with people who insist on have nobody DARE pass them. So I bought a radar/laser detector. I've never tried to impress anyone with speed or what I drive because I'm not sure that anyone would ever care. I would also say thought that, when that Tundra gets past 75mph, its settles down and smoothes out and rides perfect. So to prioritize, they main reason for getting the RD are:

1) Other drivers
2) Police radar

-because #1 seems to lead into #2 (insert laugh here). But # 2 being the ultimate motivator (again, insert laugh).

BTW, when I say rural; I'm lucky to see 15-20 cars the entire 35 mile journey.

·
Registered
859 Posts
1) There are more deaths per mile travelled on rural roads than urban.