Toyota Tundra Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,261 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
OK, so I've been reading about how adding Dyna beads can virtually eliminate the need for tire-balancing weights on the rims. Only thing is I have no experience with them and wanted to check in with those that have added them to their ride to see if:
  • you think they are worth installing
  • there are any issues with them that we should be aware of
  • someone like me needs to buy them first (i.e. that most places don't stock them)
  • there is any installation/maintenance advice that can be used to make the process simpler/easier
Also, are they relatively quiet? Thanks in advance for your input! :biggrin1::biggrin1::biggrin1:

·
Registered
139 Posts
I used them in my 80 series Cruiser for 2 years. It takes a while to get them in the tire through the valve stem. They work at speeds greater than about 25MPH. I didn't remove the weights on my wheels, so I can't say if they will work without wheel weights.

·
Registered
420 Posts
I have them on my Tundra, no issues, my tires are only balanced with Dyna beads no weights. My tires are LR E, big heavy tires. I also had them on my previous truck for about 50k miles with no issues.
I have always bought direct from Innovative through thier web interface.

Added on edit, they are silent.

·
Registered
63 Posts
I haven't used them but one of my buddy has them is his truck and jeeps and loves them. You can accomplish the same thing using steel BB's or Airsoft Plastic BB's (the black ones work the best) for a lot less money.
Either way they are quiet and work very well at balancing tires with or with out wheel weights. It is easier to pop the bead and pour them in, than it is to go through the valve stem.

·
Registered
7,461 Posts