Toyota Tundra Forums banner

1 - 20 of 128 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am not an engineer, so maybe someone could explain what this benefits. The only thing I see is less weight, but a fully boxed frame throughout seems it would be a lot more sturdy then c style or c style with reinforcements. Your thoughts??

·
Registered
435 Posts
I am not an engineer, so maybe someone could explain what this benefits. The only thing I see is less weight, but a fully boxed frame throughout seems it would be a lot more sturdy then c style or c style with reinforcements. Your thoughts??
I'm no engineer either, but I have read explanations that were written by Toyota engineers. People automatically assume fully boxed has to be better, but that's not any more true than the old adage bigger is better. You just cannot make such a simplistic assumption. Lots of factors have to be considered for a truck, including tow/hauling, acceleration, ride quality, etc. There's also the issue of flex. Flex can be either good or bad, but the thing to consider is that you don't want too much of it, and you also don't want to totally eliminate it. The tripletech frame puts strength where it is needed most and allows for flex and lighter weight where it can enhance the tow/haul capacities, acceleration and ride quality.

It would have been an easy thing for Toyota to include a fully boxed frame on a new design, but they seem to know that doing so wouldn't do a whole lot for them except give them a bold statement to make in the brochure, like Ford does. I think it boils down to who you want to believe. I just bought a new Tundra, so that's where I stand.

·
Registered
1,279 Posts
Less weight and more cost effective for their goals would be my guess. Its not like boxed frame = greatest thing ever. Current Super Duties dont have boxed frames but you dont hear Ford boys gripin about them...

·
Registered
1,343 Posts