Toyota Tundra Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My 2002 4.7 tundra got towed home from the gas station last week and I'm hoping some of you fine folks can help me troubleshoot this down a bit more.

I know misfiring questions come up often, but I'm hoping I've compiled enough information that someone will be able to help narrow it down a bit more or maybe suggest something different entirely.

I've been doing repairs for a couple months now and I don't know what, if any, of the issues I'm seeing are connected so I've included some background leading up to getting towed just in case it's relevant.

Background:
I've had the truck about a year. At time of purchase, it was almost due for its 2nd timing belt/water pump and was throwing a CIL for o2 censors. I (at the time) didn't have a code reader of my own and opted to not clear the codes.

I ran it like that for almost a year (not daily) before changing the timing belt/water pump a couple months ago. Except for a broken crankshaft sensor connector, that job went well. I drove it for a few weeks before it overheated going uphill with a bed-load. I didn't notice until it was already in the red. No leak visible on ground or under hood and the dipstick looked fine but smell of coolant was in the air.

A passer-by in a 2nd Gen Tundra suggested burping the coolant system, something I didn't do after timing belt job. Got it home, burped system and truck stopped overheating but the faint smell of coolant remained in the air. Never smelled inside the cab, only outside and reservoir level looked fine. Ran it for a couple weeks before coolant started dripping onto the ground.