Toyota Tundra Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Supportive Supporter
1,140 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My 2012 Camry SE has all of 37K miles on it. I bought it used from a Toyota dealership. It qualified for the Toyota 100K mile warranty.
It's a 4cyl, 6 spd auto.....the usual goodies.
It was a Hertz rental car.....(maybe that's the problem?)
Here are the problems: Backing down my driveway or any slight hill I can tap the brakes and hear a loud clicking. It almost sounds like it's coming from the front brakes......maybe the pins are worn?
This is the ****ty problem. On starting up, especially after it has sat for a while (or over night) the engine rattles, bad and then goes quiet.
I was a mechanic for a number of years and this sounds to me like a cam chain / oil pressure problem. Some of the old Toyota 4 cylinders used to have the chain tensioners go bad and the chain would eventualy eat thru the cam chain cover.
Do these engines have the same issues?
I changed the oil and filter at 35K miles, had to buy a damn tool for the oil filter.....so the oil is fresh.
Any ideas?
Do I dare take it to the dealership and hope they don't ruin it?

I really like the car...I have gotten up to 36 MPG! Which is great compared to my Tundy.

Thanks!

·
Registered
5 Posts
This is the ****ty problem. On starting up, especially after it has sat for a while (or over night) the engine rattles, bad and then goes quiet.I was a mechanic for a number of years and this sounds to me like a cam chain / oil pressure problem. Some of the old Toyota 4 cylinders used to have the chain tensioners go bad and the chain would eventualy eat thru the cam chain cover.
Do these engines have the same issues?
Thanks!
Bump for a reply. I'm in the same boat. Haven t spoken to dealer yet. My Camry is an 11

Thanks

·
Registered
734 Posts