Toyota Tundra Forums banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, noob here checking in to see if you can help diagnose the problem with my Tundra.

I have an '02 with about 100,000 miles.

This morning I made a right turn and heard a loud pop and my truck dropped on the left side. It still drives, but the left wheel well is right on top of the tire. The right side isn't as bad but also seems lower.

I realize that I really need to get to a mechanic to look at it, but I want to see if I can get an idea what's going on before I drive around. Any ideas?

·
The Tire Guy
261 Posts
Balljoints?

·
Registered
89 Posts
1. Ball joint
2. Shock mount

I strongly suggest you do not drive that vehicle anywhere in that condition.
I second this advice. Call a tow truck. If you don't have AAA then get someone who does to be there with you when the tow truck arrives and you won't be charged.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Hmm... I was afraid of that... what do you think is the worst that could happen if I drive it? I do have AAA, but I don't have a regular mechanic and if I have it towed somewhere I'm pretty much captive to whatever they quote...

·
Registered
524 Posts
Balljoint recall ever done?

Take it to the dealer, its a free recall they MUST do.

Its not drivable, the wheel could fall off.

·
2015 Toyota Tundra DC SR5 5.7L
8,534 Posts
Hmm... I was afraid of that... what do you think is the worst that could happen if I drive it? I do have AAA, but I don't have a regular mechanic and if I have it towed somewhere I'm pretty much captive to whatever they quote...
This is a critical suspension component failure. You're looking at loss of steering control and additional damage from disconnected assemblies moving around under there.

Q: Do you have aftermarket lift components installed? Which ones?

In regards to repair, unless you have a history with an independent mechanic, you're just gambling.