Toyota Tundra Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Do you recommend wheel spacers? I have tried to fit a 285/75/16 on my stock 06' Toyota Tundra rims, there is very very little space between the control arm and tire..... I was told a spacer would work..... What are your thoughts? I have read horror stories of people wheels falling off due to stripped studs etc..... PLEASE HELP?

·
Registered
429 Posts
You'll be alright...go for a 1'' spacer from spidertrax. The horror stories are from people that are jumping or similiar...crazy dudes!

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for your feedback.....

I really don't need much room and I was wondering if a 1/4" disk brake wheel spacer would do the work or do you recommend the ones that bolt on? Sorry I am a noob.

·
Registered
901 Posts
I am running 285/75/16, and they were slightly rubbing on the frame in a full turn, so I just bought me a set of the Spidertrax, which were delivered yesterday. Hopefully will get them installed today. From everything I've read, they are the best.

·
Registered
64 Posts
i love mine. never had any problems. had them over a year now.

·
Registered
45 Posts
Not sure if I would do it if you had rims with a lot of off set. My rims are pro comps with 4" of off set and spacers would put too much strain on it but if you have stock rims I don't think 1.5" spacers would hurt.

·
Registered
1,926 Posts
Get these if you want your wheels to fall off:

Why, whats wrong w/ lug centric spacers??

I know plenty of guys that use those types of spacers on their cars and they work fine and their wheels never fell off. If you need a few mm's of clearance instead of a 1 1/4" like the spidertrax those are fine to use. Anything thicker than a few mm Id use longer lug bolts. If you hear of a spacer failing usually its due to user error.

And FYI: http://www.jeepforum.com/forum/f9/tire-fell-off-going-down-road-wheel-spacer-failure-1054227/

·
Registered