Toyota Tundra Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First post here - I am ready to pull the trigger on a new Tundra and have been reading all previous posts regarding the 4.6 vs 5.7

I have driven both and while the 5.7 is certainly fun, I would be fine with the 4.6 as it is no dog either.

Here is where I am undecided. We are looking at buying a 20-22ft pontoon this summer. Pontoons are not that heavy (maybe 4000lbs) for boat,motor, & trailer. But they are big & bulky and catch a lot of wind going down the road. Weight wise I think the 4.6 would be fine but what about real world towing such a bulky object? I have no experience towing a pontoon so I just don't know what to expect.

I have a deal worked out for a 4.6 DC 4x4 and can take delivery next week but I need to let them know tomorrow before someone else picks it up. The dealer will not have what I want in a 5.7 until middle of May so I would run the risk of losing the current incentives.

Any thoughts/opinions will be appreciated.
Thanks

·
Registered
92 Posts
Go for the 5.7, you will not regret it. As for the incentive ...... incentives sell cars ....... stop the incentive and sales will stop ...... incentives will continue! Bet on it. :tu:

·
Registered
819 Posts
I would go 5.7 also. If you buy the 4.6 you will be I should have bought the 5.7 or what if I bought the 5.7. The MPG's are not that different.

·
Registered
750 Posts
A good rule of thumb to go by is that at speeds above 55-60mph the wind resistance of a vehicle and a trailer will require more power to push through the air than is being used to overcome rolling resistance/weight. So you need to ask yourself how far will you be towing, what kind of terrain you will be towing over, and at what speeds do you wish to tow at?