Toyota Tundra Forums banner

1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
48 Posts
I would like to know the same thing, even my 04 4runner had 6 lugs. Amazing how many guys have said nice truck to me only to comment about noticing the 5 lugs. I could care less if engineering calculations prove 5 is OK (I am an engineer by the way) I want 6 just to keep with the tough truck theme.

·
Registered
595 Posts
Maybe money? That is 4 less holes to drill in the axles, 4 less holes to drill in the wheels, 4 less wheel studs to install and 4 less lug nuts to install per vehicle. That is a saving of 800,000 of each per year based on 200,000 Tundras being built each year.

·
Registered
214 Posts
The reason for 5 lugs instead of 6? Simply put, it's because that's all that it needs. Why put another one in when you don't need it? That just adds cost to everything. I bet if you compare one of the 07's studs to the 06 or earlier studs, the 07's will be a bit larger. Plus they could be using a different steel alloy that has a higher tensile strength. About the only thing I can guarantee you is that this was more than likely tested fairly extensively. I doubt they're just going to all the sudden decide to switch the number of lugs just for the hell of it. ;)

·
Premium Member
1,261 Posts
What's the big deal? Most performance cars and other vehicles use 5 lugs...

·
Registered
213 Posts
The reason for 5 lugs instead of 6? Simply put, it's because that's all that it needs. Why put another one in when you don't need it? That just adds cost to everything. I bet if you compare one of the 07's studs to the 06 or earlier studs, the 07's will be a bit larger. Plus they could be using a different steel alloy that has a higher tensile strength. About the only thing I can guarantee you is that this was more than likely tested fairly extensively. I doubt they're just going to all the sudden decide to switch the number of lugs just for the hell of it. ;)
:tu: :tu: